New ownership for a football club is a double-edged sword. For every oil-rich, hands-off benefactor happy to sign blank cheques there’s a fly-by-night junk bond trader who thinks there's no such thing as relegation.

On the flipside, the new owners might have the best intentions only to see their new investments implode because, hey, that’s football.

Our three clubs have seen new owners in recent years and the result has generally been positive.

Charlton (Roland Duchatelet) have seen an 18 place jump up the leagues, West Ham are up seven since David Sullivan arrived and John Berylson has seen Millwall rise a mammoth 24 places under his ownership.

Elsewhere, Shahid Khan’s ownership of Fulham has seen the club drop further down the leagues than any club in England’s top two divisions.

The Cottagers have gone from 12th in the Premier League to 40th in the Championship – a 28 place drop.

Bolton have suffered the next largest drop, having gone from 17th to 36th (19 places) under their current owner.

By contrast, Brentford have had one of the top two divisions’ best increases in league position by their current owners.

Matthew Benham’s stewardship of the Bees has seen them rise 26 league positions from 53rd to 27th.

The largest increase has been overseen by the Swansea owners.

When the current board took over the Swans, the club were languishing in 83rd place in the football league, 75 places below their current position.

The next largest improvement is by Championship strugglers Wigan.

When Dave Whelan took charge of the Latics they were 85th out of the football league’s 92 sides, but currently sit in 43rd, a rise of 42 places.

Bournemouth’s owners have taken them 39 places up the league from 60th to top of the Championship (21st).

Change in position since owner took over (name of owner/majority shareholder in brackets)

Swansea (Mr & Mrs Morgan): 75

Wigan (Dave Whelan): 42

Bournemouth (Maxim Demin): 39

Southampton (Katharina Liebherr): 36

Brentford (Matthew Benham): 26

Millwall (John Berylson): 24

Stoke (Coates family): 23

Hull (Assem Allam): 22

Brighton (Tony Bloom): 21

Crystal Palace (CPFC2010): 19

Charlton (Roland Duchatelet): 18

Huddersfield (Dean Hoyle): 16

Sheffield Wednesday (Milan Mandaric): 14

Norwich (Delia Smith): 14

Burnley (Mike Garlick): 14

Rotherham (Tony Stewart): 13

Liverpool (John Henry/Fenway Sport): 13

West Brom (Jeremy Peace): 10

Nottingham Forest (Al Hasawi family): 10

Blackpool (Owen Oyston): 10

Watford (Giampaolo Pozzo): 8

West Ham (David Sullivan): 7

Middlesbrough (Steve Gibson): 7

Tottenham (Joe Lewis): 6

Leicester (Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha): 5

Blackburn (Venky’s): 4

QPR (Tony Fernandes): 3

Chelsea (Roman Abramovich): 3

Leeds (Massimo Cellino): 1

Newcastle (Ashley): 0

Man Utd (Glazers): 0

Aston Villa (Randy Lerner): 0

Arsenal (Kroenke): 0

Wolves (Steve Morgan): -1

Man City (Sheikh Mansour): -1

Birmingham (Carson Yeung): -1

Ipswich (Marcus Evans): -2

Everton (Bill Kenwright): -5

Derby (General Sports): -5

Sunderland (Ellis Short): -7

Cardiff (Vincent Tan): -10

Reading (Anton Zingarevich): -17

Bolton (Eddie Davies): -19

Fulham (Shahid Khan): -28