West Ham Utd manager Slaven Bilic is going to be keeping some illustrious company in the dug-outs around the country next season with the epic surroundings of the Olympic Stadium fit for kings of the game like Pep Guardiola, Jose Mourinho, Antonio Conte and Jurgen Klopp.

Good job, he must be thinking, that I had a season to prepare myself before the true maelstrom begins.

It feels like a golden age of managers is upon us, the like of which has never been seen before - or has it?

To find out, The Wharf created an index of managers for each Premier League season, awarding points based on their personal trophy cabinets at the start of the season.

Managers' League 2016/17

Trinity Mirror Data Unit

Only top tier titles have been counted and have been given different scores based on their prestige [points system below]. And it turns out that 2009-10 was the Premier League’s management zenith.

(Not so in east London where the Irons were in a state of turmoil. Gianfranco Zola admitted after his sacking that he lacked the experience and was sacked.)

The managers who we know will be in the division this coming season are drenched in top flight experience and have an impressive collection of trophies. Among them are four Champions Leagues, 28 domestic leagues, and 26 domestic cups.

It gives them an overall score of 245.

Managers' League 2009/10

Trinity Mirror Data Unit

That’s only the joint ninth highest point total in the competition’s history, according to our managers’ league – though points total isn’t an entirely fair comparison.

Firstly, there are still two unknown managers at the time of writing. Everton are managerless and we don’t yet know who will come up from the Championship play-offs.

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, the other seasons in question had sackings and new appointments, and therefore opportunities for other high scoring managers to come in and lift the total.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho

Last season, 2015-16, actually had the highest score with 380. That season though saw Guus Hiddink, who had a score of 48, replace Jose Mourinho who had a score of 67.

It would make more sense then to use average score. The upcoming season then ranks as the joint third best in terms of successful managers with an average of 13.6.

The biggest average, 15.0 was in 2009-10. Sir Alex Ferguson was top of the pile that season with a score of 124. He had two Champions League titles by then, 14 leagues and 13 domestic cups.

Read more Exciting prospect commits his future to West Ham

Arsene Wenger was in second place and had a score of 43 at the time. Roy Hodgson was third with a score of 39, largely down to his success in Sweden.

Top 10 seasons

Trinity Mirror Data Unit

Points system

Competition: Points

International tournaments: 6

Champions League/Copa Libertadores: 5

Domestic league: 4

Europa League/main domestic cup/intercontinental cups: 3

Other domestic cups: 2

One off match competitions (e.g. Community Shield): 1